View Full Version : Use of 3G phone whilst moving?

I_R_Engineer
11th July 2005, 02:03 PM
Hi, I'm interested to know how people's experience is of using the wonderful 3G technology handsets whilst moving?

For example, in a car, (obviously with hands-free) or during a train journey?

I have no practical experience yet of the 3G systems, and I'm wondering if I should wait for the (really called this!) 3.99G phone systems for voice and especially data calls, whilst moving.

thanks, I_R_

bsrjl1
11th July 2005, 02:26 PM
I regularly drive up the A1 & know exactly where 3 will drop the call! Switched to O2 GSM & it's better, but still not great around Stamford.

Ben
11th July 2005, 06:11 PM
3G data whilst moving deteriorates rapidly - WCDMA just doesn't handle movement well. Stationary in good signal does give great performance though. I have had some good connections on the motorway including 3G-2G-3G handovers but the throughput just isn't there - for example, I could browse, but watching OTV wasn't an option. Interestingly, I got held up in traffic once on the motorway (i'd left OTV on to see if it'd kick in) and it worked really well when stationary. As soon as I started moving it went back to endless buffering.

Voice works - but then on Orange I always get handed over to 2G for calls after a few seconds or minutes.

Welcome to Talk3G!

TheBrit
15th July 2005, 10:50 PM
3G voice calls work fine with Orange with handover to 2g and back again, even when viewing WAP pages with no problems.

Hands0n
23rd July 2005, 10:15 PM
I have held successfull [continuous] Hutchinson 3 3G Voice calls from Dover to Gravesend area in Kent without a single drop-off. In London the mobile situation is much more varied, with disconnects and fall backs to O2 (with the accompanying disconnect).