View Full Version : Using a 3G Datacard SIM in a handset..

mlusmore
20th August 2006, 10:02 AM
Hi,

I'm a photographer and need to be able to access high speed internet on the road. Everyone at work uses a dell laptop with a 3g datacard but as I like to be difficult I want to continue to use my mac.

I have the use of an ibook and a new macbook both of which are bluetooth enabled however they have no datacard slot. I have read that soon vodafone(and i'm sure others) will be bringing out a 3g usb modem but until then I need to connect.

So the question I am posing is..

Can I take the 3G datacard sim out of the datacard and put it in a 3g phone and connect to it?

I am assuming that it will work but wondered if anyone else had tried?

thanks.
mike.

Ben
20th August 2006, 11:58 AM
Hi mike, welcome to Talk3G.

I haven't tried it either I'm afraid, but I fully anticipate that it will work. Actually, if I remember correctly, when I installed the Mobile Connect software from Vodafone it actually gives the option of setting up connectivity over a datacard or a mobile phone! So that might be the best thing to do. Alternatively you can probably just BT to the phone and dial *99# to get connected.

Let us know how you get on!

3g-g
20th August 2006, 12:44 PM
So the question I am posing is..

Can I take the 3G datacard sim out of the datacard and put it in a 3g phone and connect to it?

I am assuming that it will work but wondered if anyone else had tried?

Mike,

Yes, this should work no problem, the SIM will still be connecting the same way it would in the handset as it would in the data card, I've got my USIM from my Orange MOC in my Sanyo S750 currently which I bluetooth to my laptop for connectivity remotely also. As Ben mentions, set up a Bluetooth connection between handset and Mac, create a dial up using *99# as the dial up number, you should see the phone conncet to 3G GPRS and off you go! I know my friend with a powerbook does this all the time with his 6680.

G.