View Full Version : New Orange Data Tarrifs? are they new?

paulbds
25th April 2007, 11:06 PM
Hello from a newbie here in Colwyn Bay North wales. I am always on the lookout for good data deals as my laptop, when I connect to the work network gets locked out (firewall) of various sites, eg eBay/Ryanair etc. I currently use TMobile WnW £1 /day acces as it's the best currently on the market for PAYG
Imagine my surprise when I saw this artcle in Mondays Times as I see this as a much faster way in internet use as PAYG. (T Mob isn't a great signal where I sometimes work from but Orange is better)Maybe as the market develops all the operaters will introduce PAYG internet for cheap rates

http://business.timesonline.co.uk/tol/business/industry_sectors/telecoms/article1690586.ece

I was hoping to post this on the day I read it but it took me a couple of days for registration to get cleared.
I went to the Orange shop in trafford Centre today and the helpful sale chap there didn't seem to know about the new tarrifs. (He did tell me about the £1/day Orange World access ( and I was given a 3G Orange SIM) but I am not too sure if this will be the same thing.
Anyway, just in case this is news for the members of this BB I am glad to share this with you:)

Paul

Link checked and working 25/4/2007

(I have no connection with any of the telecoms firms mentioned -)

Ben
25th April 2007, 11:24 PM
Hi paulbds, welcome to Talk3G!

I like Orange's idea of simpler tariffs... (sarcasm!)

Contract: Internet “snacks” – 30p for 15mins with daily cap of £1.50 or a “bundle” priced at £1 per day or £5 monthly for evening/ weekends or £8 monthly “anytime”

Pay-as-you-go: Internet snacks – 40p for 15 mins with daily cap of £2 or a daily £1 bundle
Vs T-Mobile's already established, crystal clear pricing:

Contract: £7.50 per month unlimited browsing on “Web ’n’ Walk” or capped at £1 day for other customers

Pay-as-you-go: Capped daily at £1