View Full Version : 3G iPhone is coming!

3g-g
19th November 2007, 04:43 PM
In May 2008! So don't get too excited, there's a wee while to wait yet.

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2007/11/19/3g_iphone/

It comes as no surprise that Apple is working on a 3G version of its handset, and May 2008 sounds like a reasonable time frame for such a device to be launched - barring technical problems. The real question is how the addition of 3G will impact the price and battery life.

6 months for a 3G iPhone, I know I'll be tempted... only if it's unbelievably well specd, 'till then I'll sit tight. One thing from that article I noticed was the percentage of revenue Apple are looking for from the operators. Is the iPhone such a seller that it's worthwhile for the operators to hand that much cash over? Surely that's not sustainable for Apple to keep looking for that much of a cut? If I was a network operator I think I'd be telling Apple where to shove it!

Ben
19th November 2007, 05:14 PM
If the iPhone can turn a load of talkers and texters into a load of browsers, emailers and music downloaders then 30% will be somewhat of a bargain ;)

Assuming the new iPhone has HSDPA I think that'll be enough for me to buy one next year. Not on O2, though. Lol, no chance. Not without a massive 3G rollout.

getti
19th November 2007, 06:33 PM
If it comes out over here and u can get WITHOUT O2 then i will get one for sure

Hands0n
19th November 2007, 08:05 PM
YEa, I said all that about O2 too .... but the handset got me regardless :o

A 3G iPhone will be something to hold and behold - but O2's 3G network is more of a notwork from my direct experience and that of others that I have spoken with. Maybe there is enough time after they've finished rolling out EDGE for them to dig a bit deeper into the coffers and put out the 3G network that they never got around to finishing. Don't go by their coverage maps, they are pure works of fiction - I'd say illegal even!