View Full Version : Pro dongle from Vodafone

Ben
30th June 2009, 06:23 PM
Ordered me the Pro dongle with the memory card slot from Vodafone today. Had to renew one of my data accounts for 18 months (the buggers wanted 24, but kudos for listening to me when I said "er, no") but I kept the same tariff (£18/mo +VAT with no usage cap) and paid nothing for the dongle.

I love my E220 but needed another USB device, otherwise I'd not have bothered. Will be interesting to see how their current flagship USB modem compares - I'll be sure to keep you posted, no doubt it'll show up tomorrow!

getti
30th June 2009, 06:39 PM
I have been using the Pro stick for about 2 months on the same deal your on. Getting about 2.5mb speeds here in Torquay which im REALLY pleased about

Ben
30th June 2009, 08:01 PM
Am just hoping it picks up signal well enough - I was always surprised by how much better the E220 was than the PCMCIA laptop cards before it.

Hands0n
30th June 2009, 09:19 PM
Is the Pro really without a usage cap? Or is there the usual Vodafone hidden agenda stuff? I'm out of contract with my £15/3GB USB stick and could stand to pay the extra £5 to not worry about data caps

getti
30th June 2009, 09:57 PM
The £18 is without VAT so it costs about £21 a month. Gives 5GB but if you go over then you just get a slower connection there is no charge for going over

getti
30th June 2009, 10:00 PM
Funny enough i just gave 30 days notice on my modem today and will be putting the 5GB for £20 new data pack on my phone as it works the same and i dont have to worry about taking a modem, just have my phone and im on the net or as a modem

Ben
30th June 2009, 11:49 PM
See I can't stand using a phone for net access on a laptop, I like the dedicated device route. Costs more, of course.

Ben
1st July 2009, 01:53 PM
Got it: Sexy! Will test it soon.

Manufactured by Option :S

Ben
1st July 2009, 04:48 PM