View Full Version : What on earth is going on at Vodafone Customer Services of late?

Hands0n
4th May 2011, 08:48 PM
Have Vodafone off-shored their Customer Services, shutting down the UK operation? I must say that, of late, whenever I phone 191 I end up in an Indian call centre. My enquiries have been fairly straightforward and simple to resolve. And generally, for anything complex I tend to email the CS team.

That said - I have had some really good experience with skilled UK call centre staff solving problems there and then. One I recall is where there was a mixup with the phone numbers across a pair of SIMs. We couldn't swap SIMs because we were distanced apart. So a call to Vodafone resulted in the numbers being swapped across the SIMs within about ten minutes. I would hold absolutely no hope at all of an Indian call centre being able to handle that transaction. And by that I mean any Indian call centre. All operators that use them suffer disgustingly low levels of effective performance.

But I have observed of late that there are more and more comments being passed on Twitter that echo those that are often read about Three's Indian call centre. A typical example would be the following;

Spent 30mins on phone to @vodafoneuk. After being transferred several times, got put on hold, then cut off due to closing time. Shocking !

URL --> http://bit.ly/lz2oda

If this is the direction Vodafone are moving then it is a massive retrograde step for them to be taking. I surely hope this is not what we are to expect from the big red.

Ben
4th May 2011, 11:04 PM
Indeed, I haven't called the regular CS line in a while (thank goodness Business customers get treated with a little more respect), but their off-shored operation was bad the last time I used it.

Their off-shored email based support was also dire in my recent experiences. I don't even find their Twitter team to be helpful.